The longlist of 11 poets for this year’s poetry category of The Nigeria Prize for Literature 2022 has been announced.

The announcement was made by chairperson of the prize’s Advisory Board, Prof. Akachi Adimora-Ezeigb, in a virtual ceremony held today, Friday 8th July, 2022.

A total of 287 poetry collections were submitted for the contest, from which 11 collections made the longlist.

Below is the longlist in alphabetical order:

1. Ogaga Ifowodo – Augusta’s Poodle

2. Iquo DianaAbasi – Coming Undone as Stitches Tighten

3. James Eze – Dispossessed

4. Segun Adekoya – Ife Testament

5. S. Su’eddie Vershima Agema – Memory and the Call of Waters

6. Romeo Oriogun – Nomad

7. Obari Gomba – The Lilt of the Rebel

8. Remi Raji – Wanderer Cantos

9. amu nnadi – the love canticles 

10. Joe Ushie – Yawns and Belches

11. Saddiq M Dzukogi – Your Crib, My Qibla

The Nigeria Prize for Literature is sponsored by Nigeria Liquified Natural Gas (NLNG) Limited. The 2022 judges are Toyin Adewale-Gabriel, Dike Chukwumerije and Prof. Emmanuel Egya Sule as jury chair.